"Skin clearing up after years, thank you!"
"No more pimples, confidence back"
"Pimples, dark spots gone, skin glows now"
"Was so depressed... Thank God found U!"
"Can face the world again, thank you"
Helpful answers, community rocks!
"Your regimen worked when nothing else did"

Retino-A Tretinoin Cream for Acne Treatment & Scars

Retino-A is the most commonly used Tretinoin cream in India. Tretinoin is an acid form of Vitamin A usually prescribed for acne vulgaris, acne scar treatment and sun-damaged skin. Both women and men can use Retino-A.

Retino-A is available in 2 concentrations – 0.025% and 0.05% Tretinoin cream. The price of Retino-A 0.025% is Rs. 113 and Retino-A 0.05% is Rs. 108 for a 20 gm tube.

Retino AC gel is a variant that combines an antibiotic Clindamycin 1% and Tretinoin 0.025%.  Retino AC is prescribed mainly for acne treatment. Tretinoin is available as Retin-A and Retisol-A in other countries.

Retino-A is a prescription-only product in India, meaning it should be used only in consultation with a doctor. If your dermatologist has prescribed you Retino-A, this post will help you use it while keeping side-effects and skin-irritation to the minimum.

Yugard cream is a milder, retinol containing alternative with less irritation, redness and peeling potential.

Is Retino-A a good acne treatment cream?

Retino-A is an excellent overall and spot treatment for cystic acne – those under the skin bumps that stay there for days together. A tiny amount of Retino-A on the spot suppresses a cyst, usually while it is still under the skin. That way you minimize chances of scarring from a popped pimple.

Using too much Retino-A on a single spot can burn the skin in that area and cause a dark mark. Use a cotton bud (Q-tip) to scoop out a minuscule amount of Retino-A and dab it on the pimple.

Does Retino-A work for pitted acne scars / pimple marks?

Retino-A tretinoin cream review

Retino-A tretinoin cream review

Acne scars look depressed because of loss of collagen during healing of pimples. Tretinoin kind of “fills up” pitted acne scarring over time.

This plumping action of tretinoin is not the temporary kind of plumping achieved from moisturizers. This plumping is because of increased collagen production under the skin, so the results last.

It is also because of this reason that Tretinoin is a gold standard in removing wrinkles.

For acne prone skin, Tretinoin / Retino A is a spot treatment, scar removal cream plus an anti-aging night-cream. It doesn’t get better than this.

Something so powerful does not come without side effects. Without proper precautions and skin care, Retino-A can damage skin beyond repair. Another scar removal cream is Glyco 6.

How to use Retino-A

When it comes to prescription strength medications like Retino-A, it is best not to self-medicate. Your dermatologist will likely get your started on the lowest dose first. That is so that your skin can build up tolerance, slowly and safely.

Retino-A can cause a burning sensation when you are just starting out.

  1. Wash face with a gentle cleanser. Our first choice is Cetaphil Cleansing Lotion.
  2. Wait for about 15-20 minutes after washing face. This will reduce the burning sensation a great deal.
  3. Use a very thin layer of Retino-A – half a pea-sized amount for the whole face.
  4. Avoid any cuts or open wounds.
  5. Do not use Retino-A around the eyes or on eyelids. Use a mild eye cream.
  6. Start with once every 3 nights. Then slowly increase to using it every night.
  7. It is okay to skip a couple days in between.
  8. Pat a gentle moisturizer on top if skin feels dry.
  9. Use a high-protection sunscreen during the day.

Retino-A Side Effects & Precautions

When using a Tretinoin cream, you may experience an “initial breakout” phase. Some people have reported a face full of pimples from this initial breakout. It doesn’t happen to everyone, and usually subsides in a couple weeks, but if it doesn’t, stop use and consult your dermatologist.

  1. Use Retino-A only at night.
  2. Never skip sunscreen during the day even if you use Retino-A only at night.
  3. Do not use any exfoliating cleansers, toners, moisturizers, whitening treatments, scrubs or peels. Retino-A makes skin extremely sensitive to basically everything, so using abrasive or exfoliating stuff alongside is skin suicide.
  4. Keep watching for signs of hypo pigmentation (lighter coloured skin patches). Stop use until hypo pigmentation fades.
  5. If you notice some swelling of the skin, it means you are either using too much Retino-A or too often. Stop use until the swelling subsides.
  6. Do not switch to a higher percentage of tretinoin before your skin can comfortably tolerate a lower strength.
  7. Retino-A is a prescription strength treatment. Read the accompanying leaflet carefully.
  8. Retino-A may cause excessive skin peeling. Use a gentle moisturizer to hide and heal the flaking.
  9. Use makeup that does not have any in-built acne treatments such as Salicylic Acid. Use Johnson’s Baby Oil or another gentle makeup remover to remove makeup.

The biggest thing to remember while on Retino-A is to not use any harsh skin treatments. Ideally, your skin care routine should contain a gentle cleanser, Retino-A and a moisturizing sunscreen. Clearly, Retino-A is not for product junkies.

Copying this content or posting a modified version of it, without naming Acne Mantra as the original source, is unethical and an infringement of our copyright. All unauthorized use of our content is monitored and publicly slammed.

Spotted Acne Mantra content on another website? Let us know.

, , , , , , , , , ,

154 Responses to Retino-A Tretinoin Cream for Acne Treatment & Scars

  1. Ankit April 30, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Hi
    I have been using glyco 12 for 4 weeks now but there is no pelling as of now. Plus I guess there has not been any improvement on the face. So should I opt for Retino A cream??

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 1, 2013 at 1:09 am #

      12% is a pretty high concentration of glycolic acid for home use. Plus it depends on what the state of your skin is and what results you are trying to achieve. I have already told you that in a matter of weeks, all you can expect to see is some evening out of the skin tone and reduction in hyper pigmentation of dark marks. Topical ointments cannot completely erase pitted scarring however small, although they can smooth out the appearance of depressions to a good extent.

      Retino-A is a prescription medication so you need to be working with a dermatologist on that. Besides, the kind of fast results you are looking for can only be achieved through clinical intervention (chemical peels, laser).

  2. Pooja May 14, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Does Retino-A work for whiteheads and blackheads?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 14, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

      Retino-A would be an overkill for whiteheads and blackheads. You’d be better off trying milder solutions first. You could try Ducray Triacneal cream nightly for both whiteheads and blackheads. Use it all over the face at night. Plus sunscreen during the day. Avoid products that might be causing the whiteheads and blackheads.

  3. tita May 21, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Is Lookbrite & Rtino AC same cream nearby?????

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 21, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      Yes Lookbrite and Retino A both contain tretinoin, which is a form of vitamin A.

  4. alo May 23, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    Does Retino-A work for freckles??

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 23, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      Retino-A isn’t effective for freckles. You’d get better results from professional peels and lightening treatments.

  5. Hana May 23, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    Retino A and Retino AC are the same creams or or any more strong around?? P/s lemme know XD

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 24, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      Hi, Retino AC gel combines an antibiotic Clindamycin 1% and Tretinoin 0.025%. Clindamycin is a topical antibiotic that kills acne baceria. Retino AC is prescribed mainly for acne treatment whereas Retino-A can be used for anti-aging and scar treatment that does not necessarily need anti-bacterial action of Clindamycin.
      Retino-A 0.05% is the strongest Retino-A version around, but tretinoin creams in general go up to 1% tretinoin.

  6. Arya May 24, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    My doc had recommend ‘Retino AC’ ..i did get that creame around so I got ‘ Retino A’ i dont understand the difference in both..
    Im usin Retino A as for now…but please lemme know what is Retino AC?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 25, 2013 at 6:46 am #

      Hi Arya, Retino AC gel combines an antibiotic Clindamycin 1% and Tretinoin 0.025%. Clindamycin is a topical antibiotic that kills acne baceria. Retino AC is prescribed mainly for acne treatment whereas Retino-A can be used for anti-aging and scar treatment that does not necessarily need anti-bacterial action of Clindamycin. That doesn’t mean Retino-A alone cannot work for acne. It does, and it does very well. Addition of Clindamycin takes it up a notch.
      So you might benefit more from using Retino-AC, but that combination can irritate the skin too. Maybe use Retino-A for some days and see if it is already helping your acne.

  7. Ant May 25, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    does tretinoin creamUSP 0.025 help with acne scars and how long should it take before they go away?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 25, 2013 at 6:44 am #

      Although tretinoin creams at concentration of 0.025% show improvement in indented acne scars when used over 6 months, for dark marks that are not really scars, you will benefit more from using glycolic acid + lactic acid. Tretinoin creams promote collage production under the skin that sort of “fills up” acne scars and wrinkles. But you need to give it at least 6 months. It will not be effective on deep acne scarring.
      You’ll find more information here to get rid of dark marks using the CPP process.

  8. Ant May 25, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Does tretinoin cream USP 0.025 help with acne scars and marks and if so how long should it take to work thank you?

  9. Arya May 25, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    Thank you for the response.
    So that means..AC wont help with acne marks?
    By usin Retino A. MY SKIN got lil red small zits and its kinda very hard to touch on.
    Is it okay..I switch to Retino AC afta like 2 days..ill stop usin the A now. Please lemme know..
    If Ac help in acne scars..and how long does it take for the results.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 27, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      Hi Arya, no, AC won’t help with scars more than Retino-A would. The acne scar reducing action comes from the tretinoin component of Retino-A and Retino-AC. With either one, you will need to wait up to 6 months to see a difference in depressed scarring. You are likely experiencing an initial breakout. You can read more about it in the post above.

  10. Pia May 27, 2013 at 1:12 am #

    Hi, I am from new delhi , I have got burn scar ( level 1 )on my leg due to boiling water .. do you suggest Retino- A or silver- x/ mederma … I have got brown marks however its been 5 months but the scars are still intact . Pls suggest

    • Avatar of AM
      AM May 27, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      Hi Pia, Mederma is worth a shot for such scars. Apart from Mederma, silicone gels also work well for such scars. Vaniza Gel (Rs. 500) and Kelo-cote (approx Rs. 1000) are two options. Ask for either of them at a medical store.

  11. NADIA May 28, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    how long does it take before it works

  12. itsme June 3, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    How about nexret ? How does it compare with Retin A. In what concentration is it available ? Which is better ?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 4, 2013 at 6:57 am #

      Nexret, made by Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories, is also a tretinoin cream, just like Retino-A. Nexret is available in conentration of 0.04% and 0.1%. Retino-A is available in concentrations of 0.025% and 0.05%. Which is better depends on which concentration your skin will respond to best. Tretinoin creams are usually prescribed at the lowest concentration and as skin tolerance builds up, you move up to higher concentrations.

  13. Dan June 3, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Thank you soo much for this website .
    Just wanted to know weather Glyco 6 or Retino-A would be better for a cystic ance that has now reduced to a slightly pink bump . Or do you suggest any other cream for the same ?
    Well my skin is oily too . And is there anything which is there to lighten the pink bump ?
    Thank you once again .

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 4, 2013 at 6:54 am #

      To lighten a pink acne bump, products containing lactic acid, aloe vera and glycolic acid work well. But you do not need to use high percentages of glycolic acid (Glyco 6) or tretinoin to reduce the redness. They could irritate the skin further. Dab a bit of AHAGlow face wash gel (yeah face wash) and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Then wash it off gently, pat dry. Leave it alone.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 4, 2013 at 7:01 am #

      Actually, a face wash called Glycolite contains lactic acid, glycolic acid, aloe vera gel and liquorice. All of these will help you with reducing the redness and hyper pigmentation. The idea is to use AHAglow or Glycolite as a “spot mask” for 10-15 minutes and wash it off. You can even use them as your regular face washes which will show improvement in overall redness and hyper pigmentation.

  14. itsme June 4, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    Would you know if.025 % Retina A is comparable to .1% Retinaldhyde in Triacneal?

  15. itsme June 4, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    Would you say Adapalene is better than Tretinion and Retinaldhyde?

  16. Akshit June 5, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi, i was taking acne treatment nd my dermatologist gave me capsules “Sotret 50 mg” and am using Vichy Normaderm Face wash ….. But after taking the capsules for about 17 days my condition became more worse , the entire lip area , small red dots on the skin … so i left the treatment .. so i am thinking to switch to only Retino-A … will it help in cleaning my face and healing the scars ….. my sister suggested me this because she herself uses this and her skin has become so clean after using Retino-A .

    Please Help :)

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 5, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      Hi Akshit, did you go back to the dermatologist to check why Sotret was causing more pimples? Sotret can cause something called an “initial breakout” which can last up to a couple months. After that, things usually subside and people see a drastic difference. I’d encourage you to read this post about Sotret to learn more. I personally am not a fan of Sotret.

      Retino-A is a prescription only treatment and requires extreme care in terms of handling the skin. My suggestion would be to go to the doc and discuss with him about using Retino-A. You might also explore the Starter Regimen that uses Triacneal cream, a non-prescription product containing a milder retinoid than Retino-A.

  17. Ravi June 8, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    I was prescribed Glyco-6 then Glyco-A. i find results are very slow. Can i opt for Glycolic acid 15 or 20 percent

  18. Avatar of TejuPriya
    TejuPriya June 9, 2013 at 12:04 am #

    Ravi dont expect results over night..acne needs time..glyco a itself 12% and high..why don’t u try avenue triacneal or keracynl?u crazy to think to increase..most people can’t stand the side effects

  19. samidha June 9, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    i m using retino a and clindamycin for whiteheads and blackheads, but after 3wk of use, dese are converted in to acnes with pus, so is this change natural and should i continue using dese medicines???

  20. Avatar of TejuPriya
    TejuPriya June 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Clindamycin is irritating u..discontinue everything and start keracynl regimen or starter regimen..first u should contain the breakouts and then everything comes next..

  21. avi June 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    how i remove my acne scar and blocs ,can i used ratino a and cetaphil

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 14, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      Hi Avi, as you’ve read above, Retino-A is a prescription-only medication, so it is best to work with a doctor if you want to use Retino-A. That said, there is tons of information on Acne Mantra about how to fade acne scars, so have a look. Also, the effects of Retino-A will not be visible until up to a year if you have pitted scarring.

  22. ruhi June 19, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    hey iam 24yr old & getting fine lines on my forehead… how to stop them..
    is retino A useful to get rid of these fine lines ????
    please reply me…

  23. Akshit June 20, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    Hi , i mostly have a breakout on my Forehead only ….. But when the acne vanishes it leaves a black colour spot and fore head is covered with all these small black scars ….. Currently am using Retino-A 0.05% …. Though this cream has shown a great improvement in my skin but the Black spots are as it is …. So please suggest me some good cream or something which can clear all these scars because these looks very bad.
    And also i have Suncros sunscreen lotion SPF 26 , i want to ask is it a oil free or good for acne prone skin ?

    Thank you

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 20, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

      Check out the CPP process to remove leftover dark spots. My pick would be Kaya Skin Clinic Pigmentation Reducer Gel, which is pricey, but has been working pretty well for people with acne prone skin.

      If Suncros is not breaking you out, it is fine. It has generally favourable reviews from acne prone people.

  24. pooja June 24, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Can Retino-A (tretinion 0.025) be used to treat/cure acne marks.
    These marks are light pink/brown colour .Can this cream be effective ?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM June 24, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

      Hi Pooja, if you plan to use Retino-A solely for getting rid of dark marks, there are milder but more effective options. Check out the CPP process to remove dark marks.

  25. pooja June 24, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    Also i have a fair skin..and the pimple marks have just left on the cheeks..it looks really odd.Please help!

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya June 26, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      pooja cpp regimen is for scars lightening..check the link mentioned in the comment above

  26. Ankit June 26, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    My wife has a very tiny tiny dark spots around the nose area and the doctor prescribed this,
    Does this work for the dark spots reduction and where can i buy this in India?
    Please let me know

  27. raj July 1, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    hi am raj am having pimples and dark spots heavily on my chiks and eye sides shall i use the tretinoin 0.025% cream, and i used many creams will tretinoin helps me reduce those spots

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 1, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Hi Raj, for dark spots, you will see faster results with including a glycolic acid based product such as Glyco 6 or Olliza Gel. Use the search box to find the post about Glyco 6 and then read related posts to learn more about this.

  28. asmi hussain July 1, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    i apply mixture of eukroma cream and retino A in 1:3 ratio for removing pigmentation but it makes my skin to peel and this creates problems in going out of home as people point out to me that ur skin is peeling..what to do to avoid this situation??

  29. asmi hussain July 1, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    also please tell me can i use this mixture regularly to get rid of pigmentation if not plz tel me something else to get rid of pigmentation

  30. khush July 1, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

    Hi,I’m having few acne scars,near to my chin.Doc suggested me to use “Vaniza Gel” for one month.Dose it will work??

    Also she suggested me for to do lazer treatment.shall i go for that?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 1, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      Hi Khush, Vaniza gel is a silicone gel. Silicone gels are often prescribed for treatment for scars, but they show better results for raised scars (e.g. burn scars, accident scars) instead of depressed acne scarring. Still, it is worth a try and with regular use you might see some results. Including a retinoid product such as Retino-A (doctor’s prescription only) can help promote collagen production under the skin and sort of “lift up” depressed scarring. Laser treatment is an effective way to address depressed scarring, but only in the hands of the right doc. For brown skin, it can lead to pigmentation complications otherwise.
      By the way, are we talking about depressed scarring or dark spot marks?

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya July 1, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      khush my doc has prescribed hexilak silicone gel..it does work..u could try hexilak(non silicon) works well on acne scars..

  31. anita July 2, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Hi, my doc prescribed me retino ac gel for the small under lying bumps on forhead and cheeks.
    I started using it and it caused a little peeling and the areas became red and little swelled. Is it okay? And how long it takes to treat acne completely with this gel?

  32. khush July 2, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Thanks for reply…..I have depressed scars only surrounding area of chin and dark spot very few on my chicks.Can u suggest me other cream rather than Reinio A.because i don’t find reviews of Retino-A good.
    It can make my skin worse and it’s for those who have much dark spots.

    Please suggest me something Right?

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya July 2, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      khush retino is the best treatment for depressed scars..what exactly dont u like about this?

  33. khush July 2, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Hi,tejupriya

    My skin is little oily,will hexilak gel will help me?

    Dose it good for sensitive skin and can i use moisturizer and fairness cream while using this gel cream?

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya July 2, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      khush hexilak gel is for scars..it does a pretty decent job of lightening scars..
      since its a gel form its relatively works for all..
      moisturizer choose any oil free moisturizer from the acnemantra list..
      if u are looking fairness cream then try kaya nourishing night cream with fairness..
      for more info lightening of scars look into cpp regimen
      http://acnemantra.com/rid-acne-marks-dark-spots/

  34. khush July 2, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    tejupriya i’m using Lo’real night fairness cram, Is it good or not?

    Hexilak gel will just lighten the scars or it will remove completely from my skin?

  35. aastha July 3, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    i m prescribed by my dermatologist tretinoin 0.025 % + clidymycin gel +desonide cream..am using for the past 6days am seeing no side effects..in 99% of the reviews i have read ppl gnrly undergo purging,redness,irriation,flaking..i have ust experiencd nothing..am even having antibiotics 500mg and to compensate that i have been prescribed with lactic acid bacillius capsules…so please help with my tretinoin cream … is it normal to exprince no side effects??or else very lame of me to say is it a fake product(retin a) provided to me..

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya July 3, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      hi aastha..u should be happy u are not experiencing side effects so far..on that point it doesnt mean it is not effective ,looks like u are responding well to the treatment..plus 6 days is short time,give it some more time..people normally experience side effects but that does not mean its same with everybody..everybody’s skin reacts different way..it is a not a fake product..calm down follow ur doctor’s prescription..good luck :)

  36. aastha July 3, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    thnx for the response..my face is not evn drying that is what was my concern..anyways desonide is usd for what purpose?u hv any clue?

  37. Avatar of TejuPriya
    TejuPriya July 3, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    give it time..if it doesnt then good for u.. :)
    Desonide is a mild corticosteroid ,it is used to treat a variety of skin conditions eczema, dermatitis, allergies, rash etc..

    • aastha July 4, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      u giving me hope…btw does antibiotic helps in gettng rid of whiteheads??

  38. tejupriya July 4, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    aastha antibiotic helps but not in the long run..the problem is the bacteria becomes resistant after prolonged use and stops reacting to the anti biotic..for example i was using clindamycin before and now its no longer effective for me..

  39. raj July 7, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    hi am raj am having dark spots on my face for this am using skinlite cream and getting gud results how long i continue this and when i using stop this i want to use vicco turmeric cream when should i stop skinlite and after stoping the skinlite can i use the vicco cream immediatly or should take some days gap

  40. ANU July 8, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    RETIN A HELPS WITH VERY MILD POCKMARKS..IT LOOKS KINDA PORE..VER SMALL IN SIZE BUT TOO MANY IN NUMBERS…SO IT CAN HELP IN SMOOTHING THE SURFACE IF ANY BODY HAS ANY IDEA ABT IT..PLEASE LET ME KNOW..

  41. Nishanth July 13, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    hi i have extremely oily skin n bad case of acne so do i need a moisturiser? my routine is cetaphil cleanser twice a day and retino a every night…

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 13, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

      Hi Nishanth, welcome to Acne Mantra! If you are seeing dry, peeling skin from using Retino-A, a moisturizer such as Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisture for Combination Skin will be useful. How long have you been on Retino-A? Have you noticed any improvement in acne since you started using Retino-A?

  42. Nishanth July 13, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    no i havent developed any such signs…yes definitely there is an improvement in my acne..its been 3 weeks on retino a…

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

      Great, happy for you. :)

  43. aditi July 14, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    m using Johnson n Johnson retin -a 0.025% this is my third week..no breakouts ,no peeling,no redness but i do see many new whiteheads everyday.. :( ..is it coz of retin a??? …and if its due to retin a how could i reduce its number…m evn on antibiotic oraly as wel as topcally…n one more thing previous outbreaks has left many marks though it has reduced in last two weeks but pigmentation r visible …so wat could i do to speed up the process?? or retin a would help with it in d long run..
    any othr brand of retin a if u can hlp me …

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      Hi Aditi, it sounds like Retino-A is causing a bit of skin irritation. You can minimize the irritation by using very neutral rest-of-the-products. By this I mean, you will need to use a non-irritating face wash, moisturizer and sunscreen. What is your whole skin care routine? Let me know so I can tell you more. This could also be the dreaded “initial breakout” that some people notice at the start of Retino-A. But let me know your skin care routine first.

      Retino-A has to be used for at least 6 months to see the full effect. It will help you in the long run. We cannot advise you to switch to anything else because we are not authorized to supersede your doc’s prescription.

  44. subha July 14, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    i dont have pimple marks but my face has darkened over a period of time due daily exposure to both pollution and sun…..and when i went doctor, she prescribed me retino A…but retino A used for acne vulgaris, so does that mean it helps in reomoving skin darkening also?…if it helps in removing skin darkening then how does it works in removing darkening?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      Hi Subha, Retino-A is not exactly a skin lightening treatment in that it doesn’t block melanin (the darkening pigment in the skin), but it exfoliates the skin, revealing newer, fresh looking skin from underneath. That is in part responsible for its anti-acne, anti-aging and anti-dullness effect. If you need skin brightening, look into a full-fledged regimen such as the CPP process which is nothing but 3 step process to reduce dark spots and dullness.

  45. aditi July 14, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    m using facewash prescribed by my doctor..its very mild .othr than that tetracyline hydrochloride capsules 500 mg once a day and lactic acid bacillius before i go off to sleep…topicaly i put tretinoin 0.025%+clindamycin gel 1%+desonide cream before i sleep..i myself hv stop putting desonide cream after a week of its usage coz i read it online dependence on steroids is not good :-P..i dont hv any active pimples at presnt .:-D. but yes i do have too many whiteheads :(

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Aditi, which is that lactic acid cream you are using? It is possible that is clogging your pores. Let me know the name.

  46. aditi July 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    and yes i use suncote suncreen spf 30..but moisturiser i dont put anythng..its a humid climate out here..that is y..if u can name one i wil include that in my regimen..earlier i usd lotus lightning and brightening cream …but by the time i started with the medicine dont know wen can i moisturise..my skin is oily..

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Before you add in any more products, you need to get to the bottom of this whiteheads problem. Otherwise, it will only get more difficult to figure out the culprit product.

  47. aditi July 14, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    lactic acid bacillius is an oral medicine..probably its a probiotic

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      Oh OK, got it. In that case, you’re left with Clindamycin gel, but that you’re not applying all over the face but only as spot treatment hopefully, so that can’t cause whiteheads all over. If you just stopped using Desonide cream, then maybe wait a week or 2 to see if the whiteheads go away on their own. Steroid creams are contraindicated (advised against) in acne prone skin because they can and do cause acne. You did a wise thing by stopping it after a week. Were you told to use it forever?

  48. aditi July 14, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    no i ws told to use it for a month…but it made my face look greasy so i stopped..and yes clidamycin i use it as a spot treatment but i dont hv acne at prsnt so for last 4 days m not using…i am left with this stupid whiteheads which comes in numbers and hardly its goin….wil steaming work ?? or anthng else?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 14, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Hi Aditi, as I mentioned before, it is possible that your whiteheads are a result of the residual effect of the steroid cream. Steaming will only dry out and irritate the face too much. My suggestion would be to just stick to your doc’s prescription (minus the steroid cream as you have decided) then wait and watch for 1-2 weeks. If that doesn’t work, checking up with the doc will be better than trying any home remedies or random products. Retino-A itself is a very strong medication, so any remotely irritating products can damage the skin, when used alongside Retino-A. Especially if your skin is still getting used to it.

  49. RiriSunshine July 15, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    And I don’t know much about retinoids, but Retin-A and Tanzorac are both for the treatment of wrinkles and other skin conditions. They’re for spot treatment only and having used both, I wouldn’t use either around my eyes.

    I use Lady Soma’s Renewal Serum. It’s amazing. I’ve run out and need to get some more and since running out I’ve noticed a difference in the suppleness and softness of my eye area. Its seems to have smoothed out the wrinkles, and made my skin tone even. Love it!

  50. aarushi July 16, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    please help!!..tell me best brand name of retin a 0.025% ..and particularly wch u use…and wch persona;;y u would recommend..

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

      You mean which is the most popular brand name for tretinoin cream, isn’t it? That is Retino-A in India. One needs a prescription for it from a doctor. As you might have understood when you went through this post (hopefully you did) that unless used carefully, Retino-A can cause severe skin irritation. Also, you will not start seeing results instantly, so there’s no point rushing.

      I’d say spend some time reading the articles here on Acne Mantra, educate yourself on the needs of acne prone skin and then you will be able to come up with an exact skin care routine that will work best for your acne. :)

  51. babu July 20, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    Hi,

    I have deep pitted acne scars and also because of poor skin care regimen from begining, i also have lots of large open pores.My doctor prescribed me retino ac .025 % and it is already 3 months and i dont see any visible improvements in scars or open pores. WIll the use of retino ac would cure both of them ?

  52. aditi July 20, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    @babu u using retino ac for last three months has it helped u with acne and whiteheads am not talkin abt pits…

  53. shifa July 21, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    can i use retino-A cream along with glycolite facewash and suncote gel as my daily skin care routine I’m 27 yrs old.

  54. Aran July 23, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    Hi,
    I would like to know which cream would you suggest for acne scars? Retino A or Glyco 6. I have a couple of acne scars that are really dark and skin that is prone to acne. I already take isotroin to control the acne on my face and it works wonders. Also, i have acne scars on my arms, what would you suggest for that.

    thanks

  55. disha July 24, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Retino-A and Retin-A both cream are same? and how to choose this cream for my skin coz Retino-A is available in 2 concentrations – 0.025% and 0.05% .

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya July 24, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

      disha whenever u choose a application ,one start always start with lower concentration..
      after only after the skin is adjusted to the medication and tolerant to the side effects,one moves to higher concentration..retino 0.25% is a lower concentration..
      it is also a prescription drug,it comes with side effects..u have to consult a doctor and discuss your problem..
      only acne cream does not help acne,a regimen will help better..
      u can look into this link for more details
      http://acnemantra.com/tag/acne-regimen/

  56. disha July 24, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    now I’m using a cream skinlite but pimples or acne not remove clearly and my skin going to thin so can I use retino-A 0.025% or 0.05% .?????? and I have a dandruff. please give me a right suggestion.

  57. Avatar of prerna
    prerna July 24, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    @disha i hv been using retino a for a month..its goin good..definatly i see my skin purging m getting one two zits as wel as whiteheads but within 2-3days pimple are gtng smaller…the mrks wch i had earlier b4 starting retino a is much lighter … u should seek an advice from ur doctor b4 using it…i hv been orally prescribed with othr medicine as wel .
    2ndly skinlite has same composition as melacare,wch b4 taking doctor’s medication i usd fr a week..i must tel u that week as well as following week was the worst days of my life…my skin turned red,itchy,pimples flared up..i looked so raw..dont waste ur time experimenting things,visit a good dermatologist..
    i wish i could hv send my pics here,how bad i looked a month back..and how i look today…my overall complexion is enhanced

  58. devika July 29, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    hi,which is a better treatment for harmonal acne.?adapalene gel or retino-A cream?I am 19 year old and i’m suffering from harmonal acne from last two years.I used adapalene gel for three months but it didn’t work for me. please help.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM July 29, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      Hi Devika, both adapalene and Retino-A are retinoids (derivatives of vitamin A) and both are prescription products best used under medical supervision. Although they work very well in most cases, you might try a salicylic acid based treatment to see if that helps. I know from our previous conversation that your are APST 3, so Kercnyl cream could be an option worth exploring. You can read up about Keracnyl cream here. I cannot guarantee that will work for you, but it is a mix of hydroxy acids and has worked well for many as you will see in the comments under that post.

  59. rajita August 7, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Hi,

    I have dark colored pimple marks on my face. can i use retino a without consulting doctor.

  60. Prashant August 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi ..!! AM. i m prashant … age 16 … i m having a lot of pimples … and getting the scars left frm them .. i m using retino-A 0.05 .. from yesterday .. will it help me to reduce the scars and the pimples .. pls do let me know ?? … as i nerd ur help n suggestions…. !!

  61. devashish August 13, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Retino A Cream will have to tap it for life?

  62. sakshi August 14, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    im using retino a and it is nt prescribed by a doctor,ive got a very oily skin wat to do and im even nt usin sunscreen wit…wat are the effects if i dont use sunscreen/ plzzz help

  63. nandita August 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    hi, i am nandita. i am a teenager. last year, i had pimples on my face so i went to a dermatologist and he told me that i have acne vulgaris so he prescribed me some homeopathic medicines and recommended me to use dove facewash……….i started using it ,there was a little improvement……..after six months i stopped eating those medicines and i changed my facewash with clean and clear……..i am using it since eight months and my pimples are also reduced but there are some dark spots left,some pimples,blackheads and my skin is very oily so one of my uncle’s suggested me to use retino-A ……….. so i just want to ask may i use it or not? as i read on this website it has many side effects too…….

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya August 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

      Hi Nandita..Dove facewash is comedogenic..
      Retino A is prescription drug and we are not authorize to advice regarding this..
      Instead you can look into one of these acne regimens
      http://acnemantra.com/tag/acne-regimen/

    • Avatar of AM
      AM August 23, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      Hi Nandita, welcome to acne mantra! You know you could use the Basic Regimen which is designed to keep teen skin clear while avoiding harsh chemicals. With the products mentioned in that regimen you will see faster fading of dark spots and prevent new pimples.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM August 23, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      Retino-A is a pretty strong treatment and you probably don’t need it at this point. Perhaps check out the Basic Regimen I mentioned and then take it from there.

  64. Krishna August 23, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    I am Using Retino-A for pitted scars, Will taking collagen supplements along with the application of Retiono-A helps me reduce the pitted scars faster? I apply Retiono-A in the night, Some days in the morning my eye is reddish, I doubt that the cream is gets into my eyes. will it affect my eyes?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM August 23, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Hi Krishna, collagen and hydrolyzed collagen supplements are gaining popularity but their effects aren’t well-researched yet. A theory often put forward is that we already have tons of collagen all over the body, how is a small capsule going to do and create collagen exactly where we want it to? Also, collagen when taken orally, gets broken down in the stomach, so it is uncertain how much of it really reaches the skin. Antioxidants like vitamin C, E, lycopene all help with collagen production, so a supplement with those could help.

      Yes, it looks like Retino-A is getting into your eyes – not advisable. Apply a thin layer of Retino-A only up to the outside of the eye socket. Use half a pea-size for the whole face. This much will absorb into the skin before you hit the bed. If this also causes redness, apply a thin layer of vaseline all around the eyes and then with clean hands apply a thin layer of Retino-A on the rest of the face. Hope this helps. Keep us posted.

  65. Krishna August 25, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Thank you so much for your reply. By using Retino-A I can see the pitted scars getting filled, will it be peramanent or will it become deep as before when I stop using retino-A?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM August 25, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Hi Krishna, the filling up is due to collagen production under the skin. It is permanent. Try not to rub or massage those parts of the face too hard.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM August 25, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      I should also mention that Retino-A has to be used over a long term to see measurable improvement. You’re on track Krishna. :)

  66. ramya August 29, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    am using retino-a for scars nd pimple treatment.. suggest me some good soap
    my skin is a oily skin.. and i dont have very tough problem of pimples but i have many scars.. dark spots on neck nd back.. so suggest me a good soap .. nd even some precautions if necessary

  67. Anshul August 31, 2013 at 2:39 am #

    Hi.. I would like to know if Retino A 0.05% could be used to cure “fordyce spots” on the sides of the lips?
    TIA

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya August 31, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      Hi Ansul..Retino should be avoided near eyes and lips area.

  68. swetha September 1, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    Hello in advise of my friend I used retino cream for dark spots on my face . Very night I used to use the cream in more quantity . I dint know uhav we hav to use very little of it . Now it has burned my skin . I don’t know what to do . . Splease suggest ssomething . Shall I continue the cream In small amount .please help

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya September 1, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Hi Swetha..Retino is a prescription drug to be followed under doctor supervision..
      They come with their own side effects and instructions..
      It was a bad move on your part to misuse such a drug..
      It has to be sparingly used and frequency,dosage has to be adjusted..
      Discontinue everything and switch to a neutral cleanser like kaya soothing cleanser,oil free moisturizer like neutrogena oil free moisturizet for combination skin,suncote sunscreen..Do not use any other products.

  69. roma September 2, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    i have been using retino a for the last two months..the marks wch i had has faded..but i do get pimples now ..5-6 in a week..earlier it was lesser before the medication..initialy the medicines made a difference but i thought in the long run it would work the best..but its already been two months i was expcting some improvement but its not showing

  70. Krishna September 2, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    Thank you for your guidance. Please also guide me, When using Retino-A, Whethere I can use Pearl white soap which contains hydroquinone?

    • Avatar of TejuPriya
      TejuPriya September 3, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Hi Krishna..Retino is a prescription drug and we are not authorized to advise regarding that..
      Retino itself is a very strong treatment,use mild or neutral cleansers..

  71. Krishna September 3, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Thank you so much.. As you said i will pick up a mil cleanser.

  72. Avatar of Akshat17
    Akshat17 October 5, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Hi.I am having too many pimples and acne scars and also my skin has got severly darken due use of various pimple control product.I am currenty using nomarks cream and neutrogena deep clean facial cleanser and now i am thinking to start retino a.So please help Will RETINO-A would help in clearing pimples and Scars.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM October 5, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Hi Akshat, yes, Retino-A will help you, but if you continue to use pore-clogging products on the side, even this strong acne cream won’t be able to stop new pimples from coming. What you need more than anything right now is knowledge about how to stop your pimples fast: http://acnemantra.com/how-cure-acne/ Please go through this link carefully and take your time reading, and you will understand where you might have been going wrong and why your pimples have not yet stopped.

      By the way Nomarks cream is comedogenic, which means it will cause you more pimples. You will learn to differentiate which products will cause pimples and which won’t when you read the link above.

  73. Avatar of amisha
    amisha October 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    hi….i m using retino a .025% cream……nd my skin is oily….i just want to know which face wash or cleanser i should go for which work perfectly with retino a cream………as i m currently using fash face wash……should i continue with it?????? nd i m also taking sotret 10mg capsule……..plzzz suggest me…….

    • Avatar of AM
      AM October 12, 2013 at 8:18 am #

      Hi Amisha, if Fash isn’t over-drying your skin, you could carry on with it. If it does dry out your skin, Kaya Skin Clinic Soothing Cleansing Gel is a tried and tested option to use with Retino-A, and many love it here.

      Did you doctor prescribe you Sotret? If it’s going fine and you are not seeing any nasty side-effects, that’s great but if you are, check out this post about Sotret: http://acnemantra.com/benefits-dangers-sotret-accutane-isotretinoin/

  74. Avatar of rini
    rini October 12, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

    What is the price of retino ac gel and how about using it instead of retino A?

    • Avatar of AM
      AM October 13, 2013 at 10:39 am #

      Hiya rini, Retino-AC gel is tretinoin mixed with a topical antibiotic clindamycin (tretinoin 0.025 %, clindamycin 1 %). You’re right about it being better than just Retino-A since research has shown that this combination works better than each one used alone. The price of Retino-AC gel is 180 Rupees for a 20 gm tube.

  75. Avatar of amisha
    amisha October 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Actually I want to try new face wash as I m getting small spots all over my face nd also I want a face wash which clean my pores deeply …….nd work perfectly with retino a …….so should I go for kaya skin cleaning gel or cetaphil cleanser or any other as per ur recommendation…….

  76. Avatar of Ritika Verma
    Ritika Verma October 20, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Hi I am using Retino because my friend had used it and told me that it is effective for blackheads but i am using it from last 3 to 4 days and having headache so i want to confirm whether it is normal or not.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM November 4, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

      Hi Ritika, using Retino-A for blackheads is a terrible overkill. Simply using a salicylic acid based product such as Saslic 1% or 2% face wash is enough unless you have a really bad case of blackheads. Headache is not normal with Retino-A. It is somehow entering your eyes and irritating them, causing a headache in turn. I’d say stop using it. Retino-A is best used for severe cystic acne, under a doctor’s care.

  77. Avatar of amisha
    amisha November 4, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    As I already told u I m using retino a .025% as prescribed by my doctor and using cetaphil cleasing lotion as my face wash……bt after using for 1 month……result izz tht during these day’s I broke very badly…..many pimples broke out on my cheeks ……..m soo depressed …..plzzz suggest what to do now should I cntnue……..or stick wth thzz only….

    • Avatar of AM
      AM November 4, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      Amisha, it looks like you are experiencing what is called an “initial breakout” with Retino-A. This is common with tretinoin based products and goes away on its own. But since it is your doc’s prescription, this is something you should check with them. Also think back if you used any comedogenic products recently that may be causing the breakout.

  78. Avatar of sumann
    sumann December 13, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Hi…i am using retino-a.pls tell can i use olay total effect spf 15 as a sunscreen lotion.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM December 13, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Olay Total Effects SPF 15 has 2 problems. Firstly, it is comedogenic, that is, it clogs pores and causes pimples. That is not what you want. Secondly, while using Retino-A, SPF 15 is too little to protect your skin from sun damage and skin darkening. You could use Sunprotek SPF 50 Gel instead. You can get it at medical stores. Also, please read this post to understand what kind of products you must avoid to prevent new pimples: http://acnemantra.com/comedogenic-noncomedogenic-difference/

  79. Avatar of sumann
    sumann December 15, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    After used ratino-A some red flaky patches showing on my face…what will i do now pls help.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM December 16, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Hi Sumann, use Neutrogena Oil-free Moisture for Combination Skin on the face. Use lots of it and let it absorb on its own. This will take care of the dryness. Look out for my blog post this week for getting rid of flakiness.

  80. Avatar of joshua ranjith
    joshua ranjith December 25, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    I am using Tretinoin 0.025 USP.My dermatologist suggested me to mix cosglo and tretinoin cream and apply on face.My doubt arose when i read about tretinoin cream, it shouldn’t be used along with other creams.What can i do now?

  81. Avatar of Prasad
    Prasad January 1, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    HI AM
    this is my first question in this beeautiful site..i am on acne as usual, i have been on clindamycin nicotiamide and retino a 0.025 for over an YEAR(not conntinuously)…thanks to AM i came to know that long term clindamycin is USELESS!…now i am only using retino a 0.05 at night i also have switched to cetaphil facewash and baby oil for moisturising but retino a cream makes my skin oily a little ..so please suggest me a equilanent retino a 0.05 GEL (i came across that retino a brands list post,but i would like your personal advice for the equivalent) . Is GEL better than CREAM…i am also looking for a morning treatment mostly a spot treatment can i use BP 2.5% gel or any facewash for tacking acne in the morn?..i rely on your suggestions people..and again thanks to AM for pointing my mistakes!! :)

  82. Avatar of Haseeb Alam
    Haseeb Alam January 11, 2014 at 7:54 pm #

    Hi Acne Mantra…

    I have lot of Cystic acne and Whiteheads on my face.

    Can i use Retino-A without consulting a doctor.

    Please suggest me…

    • Avatar of AM
      AM January 12, 2014 at 10:41 am #

      Hi Haseeb, as you guessed, Retino-A is a very strong treatment for most people and usually not necessary. This is because once you identify what might be wrong in your present regimen and make small changes, many times the results are amazing even with just those little changes. For example, check if your face wash / acne cream / sunscreen / miosturizer / shaving cream might be comedogenic. Please go through this post to understand better what I mean: http://acnemantra.com/comedogenic-noncomedogenic-difference/

      It is unlikely to have a major incidence of cystic acne and whiteheads if you are already using only non-comedogenic products, so just go through the link I mentioned and then take it from there. If you have any questions after that, please just post them in the community area.

  83. Avatar of Haseeb Alam
    Haseeb Alam January 16, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    Hi AM…

    I already used non-comedogenic product. But result is not well.

    I want to a good facewash/moisterizer for my acne and there dark marks.

    Which ‘Facewash and Moisterizer’ work well for my pimple-prone skin.

    Please give me suggest again…

    Thank you!

  84. Avatar of Mehul
    Mehul January 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    Which facewash should i use with Retino-A 0.025% ? can i use aha glow face wash ?… which is better Benzac-AC gel or Retino-A 0.025%….or they can be use simultaneously…. pls give directions…. i have mostly cycst acne and my skin type is oily. my age is 19.

  85. Avatar of Haseeb Alam
    Haseeb Alam February 4, 2014 at 5:59 pm #

    hi acne mantra…

    I am using retino-a treatment.

    Can i use “nivea men advanced dark spot reduction spf 30″ as a sunsceen?

    Please help me again…….

    • Avatar of AM
      AM February 5, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

      Hiya Haseeb, this Nivea moisturizer seems to be non-comedogenic for the most part and since you are already using Retino-A, it should not clog pores as such. You could try it if Retino-A has managed to clear your skin up. What I mean is, if your acne is under control and you do not have any active bumps currently. Otherwise, choosing safer options like Ekran Aquagel SPF 30 or Zoray Aquagel SPF 30 will be better for now. Later you could switch to Nivea. Hope this helps. Have the headaches from Retino-A stopped? I used to have headaches with it too.

  86. Avatar of Haseeb Alam
    Haseeb Alam February 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    Ya… Headaches stoped. But Retino-A not clear my skin up.

    I think, when i shall use “Nivea Men SPF30 cream” than retino-a will work well.

    ‘Ekran or Zoray’ are not available in my area but nivea is available.

    Isiliye maine Nivea ko sunscreen ke rup mein use karne ki soch rha hun.

    Suggest me again please dear AM…

  87. Avatar of Surbhi
    Surbhi February 17, 2014 at 2:29 am #

    I have used retino a two dayz consecutively in large amount i guess…..my skin has dried over dose area and flakes have appeared and also extreme redness. What should i do now?

  88. Avatar of gurleen
    gurleen February 19, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

    Hi.. my skin has always been very clear and pimple free but few years back I got laser hair removal done on my face and I would get an occasional pimple then my skin got used to getting it like I would always get a pimple or 2 in a month ( cystic ones.. very painful) then almost a year back I got horrible pimples on my entire face and my doc suggested retino a together with some oral medicines.. it cleared it so I stopped using it.. now I’m almost 30 and want to start an anti ageing regimen and have read a lot about retin a and its anti ageing benefits.. we have retino a here in india and having used it before I want to start it again as a daily routine as part of my anti ageing regimen.. my skin is clear now but I still get an occasional pimple like once a month.. so can I use it ?? And what strength should I use ?

  89. Avatar of ms
    ms February 25, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    my age is 24 male,i habe many heavy pimple pores on my both cheeks,forehead and iam unable to watch my self in mirror by those pores and black holes

    I have using aha glow face wash and sun cote sunscreen

    my face is oily and sensitive too and dry too

    my lips will get dry all most all the day
    and have more black below eyes

    suggest me how can I decrease my pores and black holes from my face and also suggest me lip care and decresing black color below eyes.

    • Avatar of AM
      AM February 25, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

      Hi Sateesh, I already replied to your questions here: http://acnemantra.com/questions/my-face-problems/ You may try that, but in your case, it is best you see a good dermatologist because a doctor needs to look at everything that’s going on and then suggest medicines for that.

  90. Avatar of sumann
    sumann March 7, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    Hi..AM..i use retino a last 3 month..result is that mostly dark spot has gone..but i new problem is come out…my skin is fair but some extra fair patches come out on my face..pls tell what will i do now…i use fish oil and vitamin c tablets of amway…

    • Avatar of AM
      AM March 10, 2014 at 9:58 am #

      Sumann, these extra fair patches are called hypo pigmentation. This is one of the bad side effects of tretinoin when used on Indian skin. This is not to be taken lightly. This is one of the reasons I advise people not to use Retino-A on their own, without the supervision of a doctor. First of all, stop using it right away. The skin colour will come back to normal in a few weeks. This has happened to a few people here before.

    • Avatar of Sonali
      Sonali April 7, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

      Hi … AM… i am having oily skin, currently using Oriflame products (Pure Skin products). can I still use Retino A for acne control in the night? Also can you suggest any good sunscreen lotion?

  91. Avatar of AM
    AM April 7, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

    Hi Sonali (@swati205), Retino-A is a strong treatment and is best used under the supervision of a dermatologist. Risks included loss of pigmentation from the skin, excessive dryness and redness and irritation acne. Before you consider Retino-A be sure to check that the products you are currently using are all non-comedogenic. This link will help you get started: http://acnemantra.com/comedogenic-noncomedogenic-difference/ If you have any questions after that regarding your current regimen or adding new products, just post a new question with all the details here: http://acnemantra.com/questions/ask/